Four times missed by one. Is Calendar Grand Slam still possible for Djokovic?

Novak Djokovic is the undisputable king of men’s tennis at the moment. Twenty-four Grand Slam titles is for now the most any tennis player achieved in history. He won the Australian Open ten times, the French Open three times, Wimbledon seven times and the US Open four times.

However, there is one honour he has not reached yet. Calendar Grand Slam.

A calendar Grand Slam means that the player won all four Grand Slams in one year. There are just five tennis players who won the Calendar Grand Slam.

Who are the players who won Calendar Grand Slam? Find out here.

2011, 2015, 2021, and 2023 miss

Djokovic was close four times, winning three of four Grand Slam titles in a year but still missing one to close “calendar Grand Slam”.

The most hurtful defeat came in 2021 when he lost the US Open finals to Medvedev, having other three Grand Slam tournament trophies in his pocket already.

The other three misses by one Slam came in years 2011, 2015, and 2023.

The list of seasons when Novak Djokovic won three Grand Slam tournaments out of four.

+ won at the Australian Open, Wimbledon, and US Open
– lost in the French Open semifinals to Federer 6:7 3:6 6:3 6:7

+ won at the Australian Open, Wimbledon, and US Open
– lost in the French Open finals to Wawrinka 6:4 4:6 3:6 4:6

+ won at the Australian Open, French Open, and Wimbledon
– lost in the US Open finals to Medvedev 4:6 4:6 4:6

+ won at the Australian Open, French Open, and US Open
– lost in Wimbledon finals to Alcaraz 6:1 6:7 1:6 6:3 4:6

What about Federer and Nadal?

For those who would argue that Federer and Nadal are better, I would just say that they have “just” twenty and twenty-two Grand Slam titles compared to twenty-four of Djokovic.

And none of them have won all four Grand Slams in one year.

Federer was very close three times in 2004, 2006, and 2007, when he did not win at French Open.

2004: lost in third round to Kuerten 4:6 4:6 4:6
2006: lost in final to Nadal 6:1 1:6 4:6 6:7
2007: lost in final to Nadal 3:6 6:4 3:6 4:6

And when Federer finally won in Paris in 2009, he lost in Melbourne (in the final to Nadal 5:7 6:3 6:7 6:3 2:6) and in New York (in the final to del Potro 6:3 6:7 6:4 6:7 2:6).

Nadal was one title short of the calendar Grand Slam just in 2010 when he lost in Melbourne (retired in the quarterfinals against Andy Murray due to a knee injury).

Will Djokovic win the calendar Grand Slam ever?

I have my doubts. He is not getting younger and even with his focus and dedication, it will be harder every following year. His age and stronger field of competitors make this task almost impossible for Novak Djokovic.

If I should bet on someone to win the Calendar Grand Slam in future, I would put my money on Carlos Alcaraz.

Grand Slam Men Singles Winners from 2003

Grand Slam Men Singles Winners from 2003

Posted in BLOG, Tennis Column and tagged , , , , .

Tennis Pro Guru

Simon is the leading editor of from 2015. He is an avid tennis player from age of 5, however, he never reached the pro level. Still, he likes playing tennis on different courts, with different rackets, and against different opponents. In his free time, you can find him watching all possible tennis matches he can find on the web or tv. Challenger or Grand Slam? It does not matter, just tennis matters.

He currently plays with:
Racket: Wilson Shift 99 V1
Strings: Babolat RPM Blast
Grip: Head Xtreme Soft
Shoes: Asics Gel Dedicate 7 (for hard outdoor and indoor courts) & Asics Gel-Game 5 Clay (for clay courts),
Balls: Dunlop Fort All Courts and Head Championship
Bag: Axiom Backpack

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *