Indian Wells & Miami Open – Almost Grand Slams

Updated 05.12.2017

March is the month when tennis circuit moves to the USA. Indian Wells and then Miami Open are probably the most important tournaments after Grand Slams. One month after the finish of Australian Open and month before French Open, these tournaments have an ideal date for tennis players and fans to check the actual form of tennis pros.

Both tournaments are the only ones played at that time. There is no other ATP or WTA tournament from 05.03.2018 till 01.04.2018 and therefore every tennis fan will focus just on this two top events.

BNP Paribas Open is played in Indian Wells, California from 05.03.2018 till 18.03.2018. Miami Open follows immediately after Indian Wells event finishes. Miami Open is played of course in Miami, Florida from 21.03.2018 till 01.04.2018.

Official Site
Dates: 05.03.2018 – 18.03.2018
Venue: Indian Wells Tennis Garden
Prize Money: 8 909 960 USD (ATP) + 6 993 450 USD (WTA)


Official Site 
Dates: 21.03.2018 – 01.04.2018
Venue: Crandon Park
Prize Money: 8 909 960 USD (ATP) + 6 993 450 USD (WTA)

We expect that we will see all top players from ATP and WTA rankings. Only acceptable and imaginable excuse for skipping these two tournaments is an injury.

Looking into the past we see one interesting fact. Last three years were reserved just for two brands to celebrate tournament wins in Indian Wells and Miami. Men wins were reserved for Head rackets and Women wins for Wilson. This combination of Head – Wilson wins lasts from 2014 till 2016. And then …

yearATP winnerRacket of ATP winnerRacket of WTA winnerWTA winneryear
BNP Paribas Open2017FedererWilsonBabolatVesnina2017BNP Paribas Open
Miami Open2017FedererWilsonBabolatKonta2017Miami Open
BNP Paribas Open2016DjokovicHeadWilsonAzarenka2016BNP Paribas Open
Miami Open2016DjokovicHeadWilsonAzarenka2016Miami Open
BNP Paribas Open2015DjokovicHeadWilsonHalep2015BNP Paribas Open
Miami Open2015DjokovicHeadWilsonWilliams Serena2015Miami Open
BNP Paribas Open2014DjokovicHeadWilsonPenetta2014BNP Paribas Open
Miami Open2014DjokovicHeadWilsonWilliams Serena2014Miami Open

From 2014 till 2016 Men’s tournaments were taken by Novak Djokovic with his Head racket. Ladies tournaments were won with Wilson rackets. However, four different players celebrate victories. Victoria Azarenka and Serena Williams won two times, Simone Halep and Flavia Pennetta won once each.

2017 was absolutely different. Men’s tournaments were won by Roger Federer with his Wilson RF 97 Autograph racket. And Ladies tournaments were won with Babolat racket by Elena Vesnina and Joanna Konta.

One interesting fact. In last 4 season, there was never racket brand which would be able to win ATP and WTA Miami Open and BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells in one year. Different brands are successful in March at men tournaments and women tournaments.

What do you think? Will it change in 2018? Or another brand will show up and claim at least one title? Or we will see just swap between Wilson and Babolat and we will see Babolat racket winning men tournament and Wilson women tournament? Or Head will make a winning return?

Check out tennis balls used during BNP Paribas Open and Miami Open. Looking for tennis shoes for hard courts?

Posted in BLOG and tagged , , , .

Tennis Pro Guru

Simon is the leading editor of from 2015. He is an avid tennis player from age of 5, however, he never reached the pro level. Still, he likes playing tennis on different courts, with different rackets, and against different opponents. In his free time, you can find him watching all possible tennis matches he can find on the web or tv. Challenger or Grand Slam? It does not matter, just tennis matters.

He currently plays with:
Racket: Wilson Clash 100
Strings: Babolat RPM Blast
Grip: Head Xtreme Soft
Shoes: Asics Gel Dedicate 7 (for hard outdoor and indoor courts) & Asics Gel-Game 5 Clay (for clay courts),
Balls: Dunlop Fort All Courts and Head Championship
Bag: Axiom Backpack

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.